top of page
  • thomastt1223

It's time to play catch up!

If you read my intro. on the home page, you know that I am pretty busy. So, this post will be me letting you know what's happened since going to the Fulbright TGC Symposium in Washington, D. C. in February, what I am doing to stay connected with the Fulbright Fellows, and what I'm doing to further the cause of global education locally (going glocal).


The Symposium was certainly a mountaintop experience for me. The energy, people, and resources were such an affirmation and inspiration to teach, live, and think more globally.


Since then, I have shared these experiences at my school, Hutchison School, through book suggestions, professional development suggestions that I post on our interoffice email system, book displays, lessons, and resources offered to my learning community. I've also gained more confidence about posting the small but important things that I do to encourage independent global thinking at my school on Twitter and Instagram.


I have gained so much from following the Instagram posts of the Fellows who have visited Morocco and are currently in Senegal. I have been honored to travel with them through their photos and videos.


Two weeks ago, my younger daughter and I attended a meeting that a co-worker invited me to sponsored by an organization called MPAC (Memphis Performing Arts Coalition). It was a wonderful way to connect with people from diverse arts fields who want to use the arts to bring people together. I met a young dance teacher from a local performing arts school. She shared a wonderful local professional development with me on using the arts in cross-curricular teaching, and I shared with her about Fulbright TGC.


When you're an introverted person networking can be hard. If you are sharing something as important as global education and new ways of becoming a better educator and person, it becomes a lot easier.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page