top of page
  • thomastt1223

So Many Emotions!

Today, we traveled to the beautiful, majestic, Monserrate. The ride up using the funicular was a bit harrowing, but exhilarating. In six minutes, we were at one of the most amazing places that I have ever seen. The stations of the cross were very touching for me, especially as a Christian person. The church itself was beautiful. I was treated to my very first mass, completely in Spanish! Although, I didn't understand much of what was being said, I could feel the peace and love that filled the building. Colombia is over 90% Catholic and to see people so devoted to their religion, that they felt it important enough to travel that far was amazing and very moving.


After an amazing meal of stuffed cucumber and a brief break, Yanilis, our in-country consultant, shared a bit of the history and culture of Colombia. She spoke with such passion about the highs, lows, and hopes of her country that it encouraged me to find out more.


That's an obvious sign of an outstanding teacher. Another sign of an outstanding teacher is encouraging active engagement from students. Yanilis had us dance and arranged for a band and dancer to come and share their wonderful gifts with us.


This day took me from quiet contemplation, to inspiration, to sheer joy! Next up, my partner experience with Jenny to Bucaramanga!

10,340 feet up at Monserrate in Bogota


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page