top of page
  • thomastt1223

Welcome to Colombia!

Hi Everyone! We made it to Bogota about 11:00 PM Central Time. I was so glad to be in home time zone. We were a tired but happy group of 14 people including our wonderful IREX contact person, Emily. T. J. came the farthest from Alaska. Michaela was rerouted through Texas due to the hurricane in New Orleans. I got to Atlanta first. Our group grew from there. We left Atlanta a little after 6:00 PM.


After going through Customs (which I passed with the help of my well-traveled cohort), we were met by a wonderful group who treated us like rock stars. Kevin, one of our hosts, was so kind and shared with me his love for Colombia and some of the things that we were seeing as we drove to the hotel. We were treated to a multi-course late supper of arepas, fake potatoes made with cheese, chicken kabobs, salmon, guacamole, and a dip made with toasted hormigas culonas (big a** ants). Yep, that's the name. Yep, I ate it. It tasted like poppy seeds.


I am sure that everyone was glad to finally get to our beautifully appointed rooms which had wonderful personalized notes and treats to greet us.


Today, will be a meeting day. I will be so grateful for some wonderful Colombian coffee this morning!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page